Subscribe | E-Editions | River News 75 | Super Shopper - FREE | About Us | Contact Us | FREE Classified Items Under $50
The Northwoods River News | Rhinelander, Wisconsin

Flanders Realty Group

home : opinions : letters to the editor
June 15, 2019

5/25/2019 7:30:00 AM
RASF president reflects on scholarship ceremony

To the Editor:

On May 19, the annual Rhinelander Area Scholarship Awards Ceremony was held. Seventy-six Rhinelander High School seniors received 184 local scholarships totaling $232,050 plus a scholarship for four years for a fully paid tuition at a Wisconsin state-operated college/university, from over 100 different donors. It was an inspiring event! The community support for our graduates should be commended and the accomplishments of our graduating seniors should be celebrated. The pride of the community, the school and teachers, the students and their families is very evident at this event. We as a Rhinelander community showed unity and support for our graduates and demonstrated our commitment to give for the good of our graduates to help start them out with a vote of confidence in a future that holds many uncertainties.

This event would not be possible without an immense amount of hard work and dedication of many. I would like to thank especially our emcess, Linda Goldsworthy and Mischell Fryar, RHS principal Shane Dornfeld and assistant principal Kari Strebig. There were also many others who provided special services: Denise Zalewski and her Key Club members that served as ushers; Jane Walkowski assisted us in getting our programs printed; Betsey Perkins and her students from ProStart classes provided the treats for the post-ceremony reception; Forth Floral provided beautiful flowers and plants; and RHS staff members served on various scholarship committees, and without their help we could not have held the event.

The Rhinelander Area Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit organization that raises funds year round to make education beyond high school a reality for Rhinelander High School graduates. The volunteer board of directors is dedicated to this cause and they are a big part of the success of the Rhinelander Community Scholarship Award Ceremony. My thanks to our officers: Vice President Tracey Barnes, Treasurer Randy Beard, Secretary Cheryl Esslinger; and board members Braden Bayne Allison, Mary DeNamur, Jennie Jaskie, Harlan Larson, John O'Melia, Kathy Richards-Bess, Debbie Rinaldi, Jessica Schiek, Kelsey Thompson and John Zenk. I am proud to say I am part of such a giving community!

Jeanne Stephens

President, Rhinelander Area Scholarship Foundation

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, and meet the comment guidelines (see "Comment Guidelines" at right). There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search
search sponsored by

Subscription Login

Today's Circulars
Print-N-Save Coupons
Order photo reprints

Advertising Information

Community Connections
Submit to Newspaper...

Ced Vig's books for sale
Kris Gilbertson's 'I Recall...'


Facebook | All Things | Wisconsin Lottery | The Lakeland Times - affiliate | Winter Road Conditions | Snow/Trail Conditions

The Northwoods River News | Walker Communications, LLC
232 S. Courtney Street, Rhinelander, WI 54501 | Office (715) 365-6397 | Fax (715) 365-6361

Corporate billing office: The Lakeland Times / Lakeland Printing Inc. | P.O. Box 790, Minocqua, WI 54548 | (715) 356-5236 | Fax (715) 358-2121
Members of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Wisconsin Community Papers, Rhinelander Area Chamber of Commerce, Minocqua Area Chamber of Commerce

Site Design and Content | Copyright 2019 1up!

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved